Skip to content

Busy as a Bee, but happy!

December 5, 2011

This has been such a crazy/stressful past couple of weeks- the hubby and I’ve been working our butts off selling items, working on going through things and also testing for our new jobs. But I’m happy to say that we are finished with testing and successfully passed all of our exams!

This is what Roscoe does when I am trying to work on my tests- he is sitting in my lap but sleeps like this- I don’t let him do this for more than a few minutes because it looks like it puts a strain on his little arms. Isn’t he so cute?! He definitely has his own personality which is what we love about him ♥

Here he is again- enjoying one of the many fires that my hubby built for us this week- he loves to be warm.

As part of “Operation Pantry Clean Out”– I made Gluten Free Pancakes w/dried unsweetened cherries.

I poured molasses over mine & honey for the hubby.

I also had a case of organic pumpkin in the pantry & was able to use 3 cans making Pumpkin Soup and it was SO good! You can click on the title for the original recipe.

Spicy Pumpkin Soup Recipe

Ingredients

  • 4 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 medium yellow onions, chopped {I omitted the onions}
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • Pinch ground cayenne pepper (optional)
  • 3 (15 oz) cans 100 percent pumpkin or 6 cups of chopped roasted pumpkin*
  • 5 cups of chicken broth (or vegetable broth for vegetarian option)** {I only had 2.5 cups and it worked fine}
  • 2 cups of milk {I used coconut milk}
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

*To make pumpkin purée, cut a sugar pumpkin in half, scoop out the seeds and stringy stuff, lie face down on a tin-foil lined baking pan. Bake at 350°F until soft, about 45 min to an hour. Cool, scoop out the flesh. Freeze whatever you don’t use for future use.

**If cooking gluten-free, use gluten-free broth.

Method

1 Melt butter in a 4-quart saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onions and garlic and cook, stirring often, until softened, about 4 minutes. Add spices and stir for a minute more.

2 Add pumpkin and 5 cups of chicken broth; blend well. Bring to a boil and reduce heat, simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.

3 Transfer soup, in batches, to a blender or food processor. Cover tightly and blend until smooth. Return soup to saucepan.

4 With the soup on low heat, add brown sugar and mix. Slowly add milk while stirring to incorporate. Add cream. Adjust seasonings to taste. If a little too spicy, add more cream to cool it down. You might want to add a teaspoon of salt.

Serve in individual bowls. Sprinkle the top of each with toasted pumpkin seeds.

Yield: Serves 8.

My niece, Olivia & I playing at Grandma’s -she’s such a cutie. The other day we were walking on the dirt road and she reached up to hold my hand- how cute is that? My heart totally melted♥

Well, I’m off to organize what is left of our belongings until we move or have another sale- which ever comes first!

Leave a Reply

